13 providersAll prices in AUDPrices checked

Compare Email Marketing in Australia

Compare email marketing platforms for Australian businesses. See pricing at your list size, automation features, e-commerce integrations, and AU SMS support side by side.

Updated
Need automation?
Filters
Brevo logoBrevoKit logoKitTranspond logoTranspondSpreeflo logoSpreefloActiveCampaign logoActiveCampaignMailerLite logoMailerLiteOmnisend logoOmnisendAWeber logoAWeberHubSpot logoHubSpotMailchimp logoMailchimpKlaviyo logoKlaviyoDrip logoDripCampaign Monitor logoCampaign Monitor
Est. Cost /mo (AUD)$0/moFreeCheapest$0/moNewsletterCheapest$14/moStarter$19/moStarter$23/moStarter$24/moComfort$28/moStandard$29/moLite$31/moStarter (1,000 contacts)$38/moEssentials$42/moEmail$54/moDrip$72/moLite
Ratings
4.6Capterra (3,469)4.6Capterra (236)4.6Capterra (78)—4.4G2 (14,647)4.7Capterra (2,277)4.6G2 (1,185)4.4Capterra (321)4.4G2 (13,599)4.3G2 (18,303)4.6G2 (1,325)4.4Capterra (188)4.5Capterra (506)
Pricing & Plans
FreeNewsletterStarterStarterStarterComfortStandardLiteStarter (1,000 contacts)EssentialsEmailDripLite
Per email volumePer subscriberPer active contactPer marketing contactPer contactPer subscriberPer subscriberPer subscriberPer seatPer contactPer active profilePer subscriberPer subscriber
$11/mo (Starter)Best$0 (free to 10K)$14/mo (Starter)$19/mo (Starter)$23/mo (Starter)$15/mo (Comfort)$22/mo (Standard)$17/mo (Lite)$31/seat/mo (Starter)$18/mo (Essentials)$28/mo (Email)$54/mo$19/mo (Lite)
Unlimited contacts (billed by sends)Active subscribersActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)Peak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)All contacts (active + inactive)Active subscribersAll contacts including non-subscribersActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)Per seat, plus marketing contacts in blocks of 1,000All contacts including unsubscribedActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)Active subscribersAll subscribed contacts
Yes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)Yes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)Yes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)No (forms only)No (14-day trial)Yes (250 contacts, 2,500 emails /mo)Yes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)No (14-day trial)Yes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)Yes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)No (14-day trial)No (free trial)
Email Marketing Features
Basic (Starter), Advanced (Business+)Basic (Free), Advanced (Creator+)Unlimited (Growth+)Yes (Starter+)Advanced (Plus+); Basic (Starter)Basic (Comfort), Advanced (Power)Advanced (Pro); Basic (Standard)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Plus)Basic (Starter), Advanced omni-channel (Professional+)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)Advanced (visual workflow builder on every plan)Basic (Lite), Advanced (Essentials+)
Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, MagentoShopify, WooCommerceNone native (Stripe, WordPress; stores via Zapier)None published (REST API, webhooks and MCP server only)Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, SquarespaceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerceShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify (deep native), WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, MagentoShopify, WooCommerce, Magento, Salesforce
Yes (AU supported)NoNo (SMS add-on is UK customers only)NoYes (AU supported)No (via integrations only)Yes (AU supported)No (3rd-party integrations only)NoYes (AU SMS, paid add-on)Yes (AU supported)Add-on (verify AU support)No
Advanced (behavioural, transactional)Basic (tags, segments)Moderate (unlimited audiences, web and event tracking)Yes (nested AND/OR, page activity and events; web push activity on Professional)Advanced (behavioural, purchase, engagement)Moderate (interests, activity, custom fields)Advanced (e-commerce behaviour, purchase data)Moderate (tags, segments; unlimited on Plus)Advanced (Pro+)Moderate (tags, predicted demographics)Very advanced (predictive, purchase behaviour, CLV)Advanced (e-commerce focused, revenue-based)Advanced (behavioural, purchase)
Yes (Business+)Yes (Creator Pro only)Yes (A/B split sending, paid plans)Yes (Starter and above)Yes (all plans)Yes (Comfort+)Yes (Standard+)Yes (split testing)YesYes (Standard+)Yes (all paid plans)YesYes
YesYes (Creator+)No (hosted signup forms only)No (forms and popups only)Yes (Plus+)YesYes (limited)YesYesYesYes (limited)No (no native landing pages)Yes
Yes (embedded, pop-ups)Yes (embedded, hosted)Yes (embedded and hosted; paid plans only)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, wheel)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted, AI builder)YesYes (embedded, pop-ups, hosted)Yes (embedded, pop-ups, fly-outs)Yes (embedded, pop-ups)Yes (embedded, hosted)
70+50+YesYes500+100+250+600+Not stated100+100+50+100+
HighHighNot statedNo published benchmarkVery high (94% in independent tests)HighHighModerate (strong on Outlook, weaker on Gmail)Not statedHigh (89% in independent tests)Very high (e-commerce specialist)HighHigh (AU-origin, strong AU deliverability)
AI
Native (Aura)Native (AI subject lines)Native (AI Content Assistant, Brand Analyzer)Native (in-app AI assistant, email copy generation, tone of voice; AI personalisation on Professional)Native (Active Intelligence)Native (AI writing assistant)Native (Omnisend AI)Native (AI Writer, Smart Designer)Native (Breeze)Native (Intuit Assist, 20+ AI)Native (Klaviyo AI agents)Limited (optimised sending)Limited (AI Email Booster)
Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official, hosted, all plans)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official, beta)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official)Native MCP (official, beta)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Native MCP (official)Via 3rd-party (Zapier)Via 3rd-party (community)
Integrations & Support
YesYesYes (unsubscribe, list cleaning, domain authentication)Yes (double opt-in, unsubscribe, SPF/DKIM/DMARC domain auth)YesYesYesYes (consent tools, unsubscribe)Yes (consent management, subscription types, unsubscribe)Yes (consent tools, unsubscribe)YesYesYes
60+90+19None published870+140+130+750+1,000+300+350+100+250+
YesYesYesYesYesYesYes (revenue)YesYesYesYes (revenue)Yes (revenue)Yes
YesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
Business hoursBusiness hoursEmail + knowledge baseEmail and knowledge base (priority chat and email on Professional)24/7 chatBusiness hoursBusiness hours24/7 phone24/7 chatBusiness hoursBusiness hoursBusiness hoursAU business hours
NoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Estimates based on 1,000 subscribers and 5,000 emails/mo, without automation. Rates can change without notice, confirm current pricing with the provider before signing on. Estimates use each free plan where your subscriber count fits, otherwise the cheapest paid tier that covers your list size. Turn on the automation toggle to move providers to their advanced automation tier. Some providers price by monthly email volume rather than contacts, so their cost changes with the Emails /mo input. Enter your current monthly cost to see your savings against each provider.
How we calculate this
  • Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
  • Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
  • These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.

Key takeaways

  • Read the meter before the price. Most platforms bill on the list you store. Brevo bills Per email volume, with Unlimited contacts (billed by sends). A big list mailed monthly and a small list mailed daily get different answers.
  • The word "contact" is not standardised, so the same list can be billed at two sizes. Mailchimp counts All contacts including unsubscribed. Klaviyo counts Active profiles only (excludes suppressed).
  • On the price people search for by name: MailerLite is $15/mo (Comfort) at its first paid rung, above a free tier capped at 250 contacts.

How we compare email marketing software

We list 13 email marketing platforms available to Australian businesses, and every one publishes a rate card. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page.

The calculator takes your subscriber count and your emails per month, plus whether you need automation, and costs each platform on its own meter: contacts for most, sends for Brevo. It picks the cheapest published plan whose caps cover you and skips a plan without automation when you have said you need it. Commission does not change the order.

Contacts or sends: the two meters email marketing software bills on

A "from" price tells you little until you know what it is a price per. Most meter on stored contacts: you pay for the size of your database, and sending is capped by fair use rather than priced. Brevo meters on sends. HubSpot is a third shape, per seat with contacts in blocks.

ProviderPricing modelContact billing
ActiveCampaignPer contactAll contacts (active + inactive)
AWeberPer subscriberActive subscribers (unsubscribes excluded)
BrevoPer email volumeUnlimited contacts (billed by sends)
Campaign MonitorPer subscriberAll subscribed contacts
DripPer subscriberActive subscribers
HubSpotPer seatPer seat, plus marketing contacts in blocks of 1,000
KitPer subscriberActive subscribers
KlaviyoPer active profileActive profiles only (excludes suppressed)
MailchimpPer contactAll contacts including unsubscribed
MailerLitePer subscriberActive subscribers
OmnisendPer subscriberAll contacts including non-subscribers
SpreefloPer marketing contactPeak marketing contacts in the month (non-marketing contacts and form responses unlimited and uncounted)
TranspondPer active contactActive contacts (fair use: 12x contacts /mo in sends)

The two meters invert. A retailer with a large list that mails once a month is buying storage, and a contact meter charges for every dormant record between sends. A consultancy with a small list that mails several times a week is buying volume, and a send meter climbs with every campaign. Work out which describes you first. "Unlimited sending" on a contact meter is usually a fair use ceiling in the terms; Transpond states its multiple openly above.

Which contacts your email marketing software counts, including the ones you cannot email

Vendors do not agree on what a contact is. Some count every record, including people who have unsubscribed. Others count only active subscribers. The Contact billing column above shows which is which.

For an Australian sender this is more than an accounting quirk. The Spam Act requires you to stop mailing anyone who has unsubscribed, so on an all-contacts meter you are paying to store the exact people the law forbids you to email.

Deleting them is the wrong response. A deleted record is no longer proof that the person opted out, so a later import from a spreadsheet or a point-of-sale export can quietly re-add them. Suppress rather than delete, and treat the storage cost as the price of keeping your consent record intact. If that cost is material at your list size, the fix is a platform on the other meter, not a tidier database.

Klaviyo and Mailchimp: where these two email marketing software platforms diverge

The usual answer, that one is for e-commerce and one is for everyone, is too coarse to decide anything.

ProviderEntry price /moAutomation
Klaviyo$28/mo (Email)Advanced (flows, triggers, predictive on every paid plan)
Mailchimp$18/mo (Essentials)Basic (Essentials), Advanced (Standard+)

They meter the same list differently: Klaviyo bills Active profiles only (excludes suppressed) and Mailchimp bills All contacts including unsubscribed, so on a list with years of churn the two are counting different numbers before either rate card is applied. Automation is gated differently too: if abandoned-cart and post-purchase flows are the reason you are buying, compare the plan that carries them. Both ladders climb in steps at different places, so the entry figure is the least useful number here: put your real list size into the table instead.

The Spam Act, SMS and email marketing software built for other markets

Australian rules are stricter than the American ones most of these platforms were designed around. The Spam Act 2003 requires consent before you send commercial electronic messages, clear identification of the sender, and a working unsubscribe honoured within five working days. ACMA enforces this. The practical requirement is that you can produce, for any address on your list, a record of when and how they opted in.

Every platform here ships consent and unsubscribe tooling, so compliance is not a differentiator. Where the offshore origin shows up is whether the platform can send a text to an Australian mobile, and whether support is awake during your working day.

ProviderAU SMS marketingSupport
ActiveCampaignYes (AU supported)24/7 chat
AWeberNo (3rd-party integrations only)24/7 phone
BrevoYes (AU supported)Business hours
Campaign MonitorNoAU business hours
DripAdd-on (verify AU support)Business hours
HubSpotNo24/7 chat
KitNoBusiness hours
KlaviyoYes (AU supported)Business hours
MailchimpYes (AU SMS, paid add-on)Business hours
MailerLiteNo (via integrations only)Business hours
OmnisendYes (AU supported)Business hours
SpreefloNoEmail and knowledge base (priority chat and email on Professional)
TranspondNo (SMS add-on is UK customers only)Email + knowledge base

On sender authentication: the major mailbox providers now expect SPF, DKIM and a DMARC record on your own sending domain. Setting that up is your job whichever platform you pick, and skipping it costs you inbox delivery no rate card will show.

What a free email marketing software plan actually caps

Most free tiers here are capped on two axes at once, and reading only one is how a business ends up on a paid plan a fortnight after signing up. On some of them a list at the contact cap, mailed weekly, exhausts the send allowance in the first campaign or two. Brevo's free tier has a daily send ceiling instead, which suits a steady drip of sends and suits a single monthly blast badly. Some free tiers cap features, and a free plan with no automation is a broadcast tool.

ProviderFree plan
ActiveCampaignNo (14-day trial)
AWeberNo (14-day trial)
BrevoYes (300 emails /day, unlimited contacts)
Campaign MonitorNo (free trial)
DripNo (14-day trial)
HubSpotYes (free marketing tools, up to 2 users)
KitYes (10K subscribers, 1 automation, no A/B)
KlaviyoYes (250 profiles, 500 emails /mo)
MailchimpYes (250 contacts, 500 sends /mo)
MailerLiteYes (250 contacts, 2,500 emails /mo)
OmnisendYes (250 contacts, 500 emails, 60 SMS /mo)
SpreefloNo (forms only)
TranspondYes (250 contacts, 3,000 sends /mo, no automation)

Treat a free tier as a way to test deliverability and the editor, not as a plan you will still be on next year. What matters is what the rung above it costs at your list size, which is what the table above calculates.

No platform here requires a contract, so switching is an operational cost rather than a legal one, which makes the risk easy to underestimate.

Your suppression list has to move with your subscribers, and it is a separate export. Leave the unsubscribed and bounced records behind and the new platform has no idea those people opted out, so the first campaign mails them. That is a Spam Act problem, not housekeeping. Your consent records have to move too: opt-in date and source are ordinary export fields, and they are the evidence you would need if a complaint were made.

Sender reputation does not transfer, so re-authenticate your domain before the first send and warm up on your most engaged segment. Expect the meter to change what you pay: moving from a platform that bills all contacts to one that bills active subscribers drops your billable count without your list changing. Cost the destination on its own definition of a contact. The export is the easy part; templates and flows do not port, and rebuilding them is usually the real cost of switching.

Frequently asked questions

How much does email marketing software cost in Australia?

Email marketing costs depend on your subscriber count and the features you need. Entry-level plans start from around $11/mo (Starter) to $28/mo (Email) for up to 500 to 1,000 contacts. Costs rise with list size, so use the calculator above for an estimate at your exact contact count. Brevo charges by email volume rather than contacts, which can be cheaper for large lists with infrequent sends. Free plans are available from several providers but typically cap you at 250 contacts; Kit is the standout exception at $0 (free to 10K).

Which email marketing platform is best for Shopify stores in Australia?

Klaviyo is the most deeply integrated with Shopify, offering native product data sync, browse abandonment tracking, and predictive purchase analytics. Omnisend is a strong alternative with built-in SMS marketing at a lower price point. ActiveCampaign offers excellent automation but requires more setup for e-commerce workflows. Mailchimp and MailerLite also integrate with Shopify but with less depth.

Do I need email marketing with SMS, or is email enough?

For most Australian businesses, email alone is sufficient to start. SMS adds value for e-commerce (abandoned cart recovery via text), time-sensitive promotions, and appointment reminders. If you want SMS capability, look for platforms with native AU SMS support. Not all platforms that advertise SMS actually support Australian mobile numbers. ActiveCampaign, Brevo, Klaviyo, and Omnisend offer AU SMS.

Why is Mailchimp so expensive now?

Mailchimp increased prices by approximately 40% across three rounds of increases between 2022 and 2024, following its acquisition by Intuit. The free plan was also reduced from 2,000 to 250 contacts. Many businesses have switched to alternatives like MailerLite (cheaper at every tier), Brevo (volume-based pricing), or Kit (free up to 10000 subscribers for basic use).

Does it matter if my email platform charges for unsubscribed contacts?

Yes. This is one of the most common hidden costs in email marketing. Mailchimp charges for all contacts including unsubscribed ones until you manually remove them. Omnisend charges for non-subscribers who interacted with your store. Klaviyo only charges for active profiles, and Brevo charges by email volume regardless of list size. Check the Contact billing row in our comparison table to understand what each provider counts.

What is the Spam Act 2003 and do email marketing platforms comply?

Australia Spam Act 2003 requires businesses to obtain consent before sending commercial emails, include an unsubscribe mechanism in every email, and accurately identify the sender. All major email marketing platforms provide tools to help comply (unsubscribe links, consent tracking, sender identification). Compliance is ultimately the business owner responsibility. The platform provides the tools, not legal advice.

Can I switch email marketing platforms easily?

Switching is possible but can be disruptive. You can export your contact list from most platforms and import it into a new one. However, automation workflows, email templates, and historical engagement data typically do not transfer. Plan the migration carefully, especially if you have complex automations. Some platforms (like ActiveCampaign) offer free migration assistance.

Should I choose a platform with a free plan?

Free plans are great for testing a platform and getting started with a small list. Most free plans have significant limitations including reduced automation, capped sends, or fewer features. If you have more than 500 contacts or need automation workflows, you will likely outgrow the free plan quickly. Compare what you get on the entry-level paid plan, not just the free plan, when evaluating long-term value.

Browse all Email Marketing in our directory

Popular Email Marketing comparisons

Independent, side by side breakdowns of the matchups merchants ask about most.

Best Email Marketing for your business

Ranked picks for specific business types, with our live cost calculator.

Email Marketing pricing guides

What each provider actually charges, plan by plan, with cheaper alternatives.

Email Marketing alternatives

Ranked alternatives to the providers merchants are weighing up, with our live cost calculator.

Not sure which email marketing platform is right for your business?

Our team can help you evaluate your options based on your subscriber volume, automation needs, e-commerce platform, and whether you need AU SMS.