Credit Card Surcharge Ban Calculator (Australia)
Work out your credit card surcharge in Australia and what the ban costs you. Surcharges on eftpos, Visa, and Mastercard have been banned since 1 October 2026, so calculate how much your business now absorbs, then find a cheaper provider.
The percentage you add to card payments at checkout.
The average rate you pay across all card payments.
Compare providers
| Ratings | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4.5Capterra (1,470) | 4.0Trustpilot (264) | 4.6Capterra (3,031) | 4.6Capterra (3,347) | 3.0Trustpilot (2,506) | 1.1ProductReview (21) | 4.6Capterra (2,290) | 4.6G2 (58) | |
| Rates & fees | ||||||||
| 1.4% | 1.4% | 1.6% | 1.65% + $0.10 | Online only (in-person Coming Soon) | Online only | Online only | Online only | |
| 2.1% | 1.75% + 25c | 2.2% | 1.65% + $0.30 | 1.65% + $0.30 | Best1.5% + 25c | 2.9% + 30c | 1.6% + 30c | |
| Free | Free | Free | Free | $29/mo (Explore; $0/mo if you deposit $5k+/mo or hold a $10k+ balance) | Free | Free | Free | |
| 1.4% | 1.4% | 1.6% | 1.65% + 30c | 1.65% + $0.30 | 1.5% + 25c | 2.9% + 30c | 1.6% + 30c | |
| Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | |
| Quote | Free | Free | $25 | $25.00 per chargeback | Quote | $15 | $25 | |
| Free | Free | Free | Free | $0.30 per refund | Free | Free | Free | |
| 0% | 0% | 0% | +1.85% | +1.8% | +1.99% | +2.1% | +1.8% | |
| Free | Free | Free | Free | Free | $178 first year | Free | Free | |
| Unified commerce | ||||||||
| No | Partial | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | Partial | |
| Online capabilities | ||||||||
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Via Xero integration only, not native | Yes | Via Xero add-on integration, not native | |
| No | Yes | Yes | Not stated | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | ✓ | |
| Hardware | ||||||||
| Smart Terminal, Solo, Point of Sale Lite (tablet), Air, Go, Tap to Pay on iPhone | Smart terminal (Terminal 1x, Terminal 2, both with built-in printer/receipt options), Tap to Pay on phone via Zeller App | Smart terminal (Register, Terminal), handheld reader, countertop stand, mobile reader, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android | Smart terminal (Stripe Reader S710, S700), mobile/handheld reader (BBPOS WisePad 3), self-service kiosk (Verifone UX700), Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android | None (online gateway; POS Payments in Australia is Coming Soon) | None (online gateway) | None in Australia | None (online gateway; POS runs on the merchants own phone or browser) | |
| Yes | Yes | Yes | No | No | No | No | Yes (software-based, no proprietary hardware) | |
| Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | |
| Not stated | No | Yes (up to 24 hours) | Yes | N/A | N/A | N/A | No | |
| WiFi plus a built-in SIM with free unlimited 4G; Bluetooth on Solo for device pairing | WiFi, 4G SIM (Optus network), optional Ethernet Dock accessory | WiFi (Terminal, Register, Stand); Bluetooth 5.3 on Reader (pairs to a phone or tablet); the host phone's own connectivity for Tap to Pay | WiFi/Bluetooth on most readers; 4G cellular on Stripe Reader S710; the host phone's own connectivity for Tap to Pay | N/A | N/A | N/A (no hardware) | N/A (no proprietary hardware) | |
| BestFrom $49 | From $99 | $65 | From $89 | Online only (in-person Coming Soon) | Online only | Online focus | Online only | |
| Platform & trust | ||||||||
| Next business day | Next business day | Next day | Standard payouts | T+2 to T+3 business days | 1 to 3 business days | Standard payouts | Standard payouts | |
| Quote | Standard payouts | 1.95% | 1.5% | Not stated | Not offered | Limited in AU | Standard payouts | |
| No lock-in | No lock-in | No lock-in | No lock-in | Monthly subscription (no fixed term published) | No lock-in | No lock-in | No lock-in | |
| None | None | None | None | Not stated | None | None | None | |
| ✕ | ✓ | ✕ | ✕ | ✕ | ✕ | ✕ | ✕ | |
| AI | ||||||||
| Native (unnamed catalogue AI) | Native (Zeller AI Assist) | Native (Square AI, beta) | Native (Radar fraud and risk scoring, Smart Disputes, Smart Retries) | Native (AI-powered fraud engine, Smart 3DS optimisation, AI expense policy agent, Airi one-click checkout) | Native (fraud and risk scoring) | Native | Not stated | |
| Native MCP (official) | No | Native MCP (official) | Native MCP (official) | Native MCP (official) | Not stated | Native MCP (rollout in progress) | Not stated |
How we calculate this
- Estimated cost: each provider’s published prices and rates applied to the inputs you set above (such as volume, team size, or invoices), plus any fixed monthly fees.
- Providers with an incomplete cost and quote-only providers are never ranked as the cheapest while a complete-cost option exists.
- Provider rate: we blend each provider’s published in-person and online rates, weighted by the in-person and online split you set above.
- Absorbed cost: we assume you surcharge every in-person card payment and do not surcharge online payments. So it is your monthly card volume, multiplied by your in-person share, multiplied by your surcharge rate, shown as an annual figure. Move the in-person / online slider to match your business.
- Your current cost, and so any saving shown: your average rate applied to your whole card volume. It does not include monthly or terminal fees you already pay, so a saving shown here is a conservative floor.
- These are estimates. Published rates can change and your final pricing depends on your business, so confirm current pricing with the provider before switching.
Get emailed when card fees change
We'll email you when payment providers change their card rates after the surcharge ban, plus occasional tips and offers to help keep your payment costs down. No spam, and you can unsubscribe anytime.
By signing up you agree to receive emails from Merchant Compare about the surcharge ban, payment cost-saving tips, and occasional offers from us and our partners. You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy.
Need help switching?
Changing provider means new hardware, a new merchant account, and moving your takings. We can handle it for you.
The surcharge ban: what changed on 1 October 2026
- Which cards
- Since 1 October 2026, eftpos, Visa and Mastercard apply no-surcharge rules to their debit, prepaid and credit cards. American Express, UnionPay and PayPal are not regulated in the same way, but the RBA reports that all three have also removed surcharging (PayPal from 5 October 2026).
- What is not affected
- Only card payment surcharges ended. Weekend and public holiday surcharges, booking fees and other service fees are outside the change.
- Who enforces it
- The card networks and your payment provider, through scheme rules and your merchant agreement. Most large providers switched surcharging off on their terminals by 1 October, so check yours with a test transaction. The ACCC still enforces consumer law, so a price rise must not be explained in a misleading way.
- What gets cheaper
- Interchange caps fell on the same day: consumer credit from 0.8% to 0.3%, and debit from 10 cents or 0.2% to 8 cents or 0.16%. The RBA estimates this lowers wholesale card costs for merchants by around $910 million a year, but you only see it if your provider passes it on. Four providers had cut a published rate by 1 October: see who cut merchant fees.
The calculator above shows what you absorb now the surcharge has gone, and the table with it shows which providers would cost you less at your volume.
Sources: RBA Conclusions Paper, March 2026, RBA surcharging FAQs and ACCC card surcharges guidance. Last checked 2 October 2026.
Paying too much to accept cards?
A lower processing rate shrinks the surcharge you need to pass on, or the cost you absorb. Compare the providers most Australian small businesses shortlist:
Credit card surcharge questions, answered
Card surcharges on eftpos, Visa, and Mastercard have been banned across Australia since 1 October 2026. Foreign card interchange caps follow on 1 April 2027.
eftpos, Visa, and Mastercard apply no-surcharge rules to their debit, prepaid, and credit cards. American Express, UnionPay, and PayPal are not regulated by the RBA in the same way, but the RBA reports that all three have also removed surcharging (PayPal from 5 October 2026). Weekend, public holiday, and booking fees are not affected.
No. American Express sits outside the RBA regulation, but the RBA reports that it removed surcharging from 1 October 2026, and UnionPay and PayPal have done the same. Most large payment providers also switched surcharging off on their terminals by that date.
It depends on how much you used to pass to customers. Your absorbed cost is roughly your monthly card volume times the share you surcharge times your surcharge rate. Use the calculator above to see your annual figure.
Interchange caps also dropped on 1 October 2026: consumer credit from 0.8% to 0.3% and debit from 0.2% to 0.16%. The RBA estimates this cuts wholesale card payment costs for merchants by about $910 million a year, but a flat rate only falls if your provider cuts it. Westpac, CommBank, NAB and Stripe had cut a published rate by 1 October; with other providers you may need to ask, or switch, to see the benefit.
Least-cost routing sends contactless debit payments through the cheaper network, usually eftpos rather than Visa or Mastercard. It can noticeably reduce your debit fees. Ask your provider whether it is switched on for your terminal.
If you used to surcharge, absorbing those fees makes your provider rate matter a lot more now. The comparison table shows what each provider would cost at your volume.
It will breach your card network rules and your merchant agreement, which the card networks and your payment provider enforce, not the ACCC. Most large providers removed the surcharging function from their terminals by 1 October 2026. The ACCC still enforces consumer law, so any price change must not be described in a misleading way.
A surcharge is your transaction amount multiplied by your provider rate. On a $100 sale, a 1.5% surcharge is $1.50, a 2% surcharge is $2, a 2.9% surcharge is $2.90, and a 3.5% surcharge is $3.50. If your provider also charges a fixed fee per transaction, add that on top. The calculator above works this out for your real volume and rate, and from 1 October 2026 it shows the cost your business absorbs once you can no longer pass the surcharge on.
The processing fee is what your payment provider charges you to accept a card, usually a percentage of each sale plus sometimes a fixed fee per transaction. A surcharge is when you pass that cost on to the customer at the checkout. They are the same underlying cost seen from two sides. From 1 October 2026 you can no longer surcharge eftpos, Visa or Mastercard, so the processing fee becomes a cost your business absorbs, which is why a lower provider rate matters more. The calculator above shows both your processing cost and what you will absorb.