How we compare AI website builders
We list 14 AI website builders available to Australian businesses, and every one publishes a rate card. Every figure comes from the vendor's own pricing page. Where a builder bills in US dollars we convert it and keep the original figure, so a currency move is visible rather than hidden.
The calculator takes the number of websites and the number of editors you enter, plus whether you need your own domain and whether you sell online, and costs each builder's published plans at those inputs. A plan that cannot do the job (no custom domain, no store) is skipped rather than priced. Every price is what the vendor charges month to month, not the multi-year rate. Commission does not change the order.
The advertised price and the true monthly rate of an AI website builder
The number on a vendor's pricing page is often not a monthly number. Prepay discounts here can be deep, so a straight comparison of headline figures tells you little. Two things produce the gap: a term commitment, where the advertised rate only exists if you pay years up front, and a pricing page that opens on the annual view. Currency is a third correction for an Australian buyer.
| Provider | Contract | Local pricing |
|---|---|---|
| 10Web | None on monthly | No, US dollars only |
| Base44 | None | No, US dollars only |
| Bolt.new | None | No, US dollars only |
| Durable | None | No, US dollars only |
| Emergent | None | No, US dollars only |
| Framer | None | Yes, genuine AUD rate card |
| Hostinger | None on monthly, up to 48 months to get the advertised rate | Yes, genuine AUD on the Australian site |
| Lovable | None | No, US dollars only |
| Squarespace | None, monthly or annual | Yes, genuine AUD rate card |
| v0 | None | No, US dollars only |
| Webflow | None on monthly | No, US dollars only |
| Wegic | None on monthly | No, US dollars only |
| Wix | Annual, paid in full up front | Yes, genuine AUD including GST |
| WordPress.com | None on monthly, up to 3 years for the advertised rate | Yes, genuine AUD rate card |
Wix is the one builder here whose billing basis is annual only, so its figure is the annual rate paid up front. A builder billing in US dollars changes what it costs you without ever changing its price, and many Australian cards add a foreign transaction fee on top. Compare monthly against monthly, and if you intend to prepay, price the renewal rather than the first term.
Site or app: the two kinds of AI website builder in this table
This looks like one market and is mostly two, with a few builders straddling the line. One half generates a website: pages, a template, a contact form. The other half generates a working application with a database, user accounts and payments behind it. Choosing from the wrong half is a dearer mistake than choosing the wrong price. The Backend row separates them, and the Export row tells you what you keep if you leave.
| Provider | Backend & database | Export your site |
|---|---|---|
| 10Web | Yes, full WordPress (MySQL) | Yes, it is WordPress |
| Base44 | Yes, full-stack (database + auth + payments) | Yes, two-way GitHub sync (Builder+) |
| Bolt.new | Yes, full-stack (database + auth) | Yes, GitHub |
| Durable | No app backend (site plus basic CRM and invoicing) | No |
| Emergent | Yes, full-stack (hosting + auth) | Yes, GitHub |
| Framer | No, CMS collections (no app backend) | No, but supports custom code |
| Hostinger | No app backend (front-end site) | No |
| Lovable | Full-stack: Supabase (Postgres) + auth | Yes, GitHub sync |
| Squarespace | No, CMS and member areas (no app backend) | No |
| v0 | Yes, full-stack via Vercel | Yes |
| Webflow | No, CMS and memberships (Webflow Cloud hosts custom apps separately) | Yes, code export |
| Wegic | No app backend (form and lead storage only) | Yes, code download (Starter and above, uses credits) |
| Wix | Yes, via Velo (database, auth, backend code) | No |
| WordPress.com | Yes, WordPress database + auth (Business plan) | Yes, it is WordPress |
If your business wants a site that says who you are, what you do and how to reach you, the app generators are the wrong purchase. If you want a booking system, a member portal or anything with a login, a template builder will fight you for months. On export: where there is none, leaving means rebuilding, since your content and domain come with you and the site does not. Where there is, you get code, and with it the job of hosting it yourself. For a brochure site that trade is fine. If the site is the business, the Export row deserves to outrank the price row.
Per site, banded or unlimited: how many websites an AI website builder plan covers
Most of the pricing confusion in this category comes down to a question the plan cards do not answer clearly: how many websites does this subscription cover? Some plans buy one site, and a second site is a second subscription. Some cover a band of sites and move you up a rung when you pass it. Some cover as many as you build. Editors are the second axis, and some builders cap them hard.
| Provider | Sites per plan | Team members |
|---|---|---|
| 10Web | 1 / 2 / 4 by plan | Not published |
| Base44 | Unlimited apps on paid plans (5 on Free) | Multi-user editing on every plan |
| Bolt.new | Unlimited projects | Teams plan adds team management, priced per member |
| Durable | 1 per subscription | Owner only on Free, unlimited on Grow |
| Emergent | Multiple projects | Not stated |
| Framer | 1 per project plan | Owner free, then A$26 per editor, hard ceiling of 10 |
| Hostinger | 3 (Premium), unlimited (Unlimited) | Not published |
| Lovable | Unlimited on paid plans | Unlimited on every plan |
| Squarespace | 1 per subscription | 2 (Basic), unlimited from Core |
| v0 | Unlimited projects | Priced per user; team sharing on paid plans |
| Webflow | 1 per site plan | Via Workspace plans |
| Wegic | No published cap, limited by credits | Not stated |
| Wix | 1 per plan | 2 (Light) to 100 (Business Elite), hard caps |
| WordPress.com | 1 per subscription | Unlimited on every plan, including free |
A sole trader with one website and a consultant running five sites for clients get different answers from the same rate cards. Enter your real site count and your real editor count into the calculator, because the entry price is the floor of a ladder, not a price.
Why a free AI website builder plan usually stops at the domain
Free plans in most software are throttled on records or seats. Here the free plan, where there is one, almost always stops short of your own domain, and several are capped on pages, credits or messages as well.
| Provider | Free plan | Custom domain |
|---|---|---|
| 10Web | No, free trial only | All plans |
| Base44 | Yes, up to 5 apps, no custom domain | Starter plan and above |
| Bolt.new | Yes, publishes a working app with Bolt branding, no custom domain | Paid plans only |
| Durable | Yes, but owner-only with no custom domain | Launch and above |
| Emergent | Yes, 10 monthly credits, core features | Paid plans (private hosting) |
| Framer | Yes, but no custom domain | Basic and above |
| Hostinger | No | All plans, free for the first year |
| Lovable | Yes, 5 lovable.app domains, no custom domain | Paid plans only |
| Squarespace | No, 14-day trial only | All paid plans |
| v0 | Yes, 7 messages/day trial, deploys to Vercel | Via Vercel |
| Webflow | Yes, Starter plan on a webflow.io subdomain, 2 pages, no custom domain | Basic plan and above |
| Wegic | No, a paid one-off trial generates one site | Premium plan only |
| Wix | Yes, publishes live on a wixsite.com subdomain with Wix branding | Paid plans only (Light and above) |
| WordPress.com | Yes, publishes live on a wordpress.com subdomain with ads | Paid plans, free for a year on annual and longer terms |
A website on a vendor subdomain, often with the vendor's advertising on it, is not a business website. You cannot put it on an invoice next to your ABN, and the domain is the one asset here that is genuinely yours: it moves between builders, which the site itself often does not. So a free plan is a way to see whether you like the tool, not a way to run a business. Where a domain is thrown in, check whether it is for the first year only, as Hostinger's and WordPress.com's rows say, and budget for the renewal.
A service business that quotes and invoices after the job, a tradie or a consultant, does not need an online store. Durable is built for that case: its store row reads No while its integrations row reads Built-in CRM and invoicing, limited third-party.
AI credits: when an AI website builder subscription is only a floor
On part of this table the plan price is the whole price. On the rest, the AI is a separate meter and the subscription is a floor. Building with a generator is iterative: you describe, look, and describe again, and each pass spends the meter. The plan you need is decided by how much rebuilding you do, which you cannot know before you start.
| Provider | Pricing model | AI usage limits |
|---|---|---|
| 10Web | Flat plan price | 100/mo (Starter), 200 (Premium), 300 (Ultimate) |
| Base44 | Base plan plus AI credit consumption | 25 message credits/mo (Free) to 1,200 (Elite) |
| Bolt.new | Base plan plus AI token credit consumption | 1M tokens/mo (Free), from 10M/mo (Pro) |
| Durable | Flat plan price | 10 AI chats/mo (Free), 1,000 (Launch), unlimited (Grow) |
| Emergent | Base plan plus AI credit consumption | 10/mo (Free), 100 (Standard), 750 (Pro) |
| Framer | Flat plan price plus per-editor charge | 500/mo (Free), 1,000 (Basic), 3,000 (Pro) |
| Hostinger | Flat plan price | Not published as a numeric limit |
| Lovable | Base plan plus AI credit consumption | 100/mo on Pro and on Business |
| Squarespace | Flat plan price | 10 one-time (Basic), 20/mo (Core), 120/mo (Advanced) |
| v0 | Per-user plus AI credit consumption | Free: 7 messages/day; paid plans include a monthly credit budget per user |
| Webflow | Flat plan price per site | Not published as a number |
| Wegic | Base plan plus AI credit consumption | 600/mo (Starter), 2,000/mo (Premium) |
| Wix | Flat plan price | Not published as a numeric limit |
| WordPress.com | Flat plan price | Not published as a number |
Tokens, message credits and monthly credits are different units, so a credit count on one builder says nothing about another. A credit grant does not always rise with the plan price on the same vendor either, so read the row per plan. Where a builder publishes no number, treat the AI as a feature of the plan rather than a meter, and ask what fair use means before you depend on it. Finally, check the Choose your AI and AI model rows. A fixed proprietary model is not a fault, but your output changes when the vendor changes its model, and you have no say in when.